How we check rooms
In short
We read the hotel's own room page (for IHG hotels, IHG's room selection page for a searched night), keep the exact room name and published capacity, record the date, and label anything we could not confirm. Some batches of pages were also re-read against the recorded source by a separate AI reviewer; this is not a check of every page or every statement. We do not rank hotels by a generic score.
What gets checked
- Room identity: the full room name, because “two-bedroom suite” alone often matches several layouts.
- Capacity: the hotel's published maximum occupancy and bed setup, including sofa beds and bunks.
- The fifth sleeping place: whether it is a fixed bed or a paid rollaway, and what the hotel says about availability.
- Booking-site match: where we ran a dated search for two adults and three children, we say whether the same named room appeared. We do not claim a price is current.
Where the facts come from
- IHG hotels: the “Select your room” page on ihg.com, read in a browser without logging in or booking. Each card shows “Max occupancy N” for the dates searched; our checks used one night, November 10-11, 2026, one room, one adult. Only room types available that night are listed. See how to read IHG Max occupancy.
- Holiday Inn Club Vacations resort pages: the operator's own pages on holidayinnclub.com, where noted.
- Other hotels: the hotel's own accommodations or policy page, or the brand's (for example Marriott) room page.
Who does the work
Research and drafting are done with AI assistance, by reading the pages above. Some batches of pages were also re-read against the recorded source by a separate AI reviewer. This is not a guarantee that every statement is correct, so confirm details with the hotel before booking. We do not contact hotels to obtain private information, and we do not stay at the hotels. We state this plainly because we make no claim of personal stays, inspections or expert credentials.
Evidence labels
- Official record: the hotel's own page, with the date we last read it.
- Dated channel result: what a booking site showed on one recorded date. It can differ the next day.
- Conflict: where sources disagree we show both and say what to confirm (“sources differ, confirm with the hotel”). We do not pick a winner.
- Not stated: a field the source does not give, such as bathrooms on IHG room cards, is shown as not stated, not guessed.
What we do not do
- We do not guarantee availability, rates or that a rollaway or connecting room will be assigned.
- We do not accept payment from hotels to change a recommendation.
- We do not show prices for tickets, rental cars, vacation rentals or insurance, and we do not recommend an insurance policy.
- We do not publish search-volume figures or reviews.
Freshness and corrections
Every page shows a last-verified date and a scheduled re-check date, and the updates page lists pages by the date they were checked. Prices and availability are not tracked. To report an error, write to [email protected]; we correct pages and note the change on the updates page.
Insurance guide sources
The travel insurance checklist restates public regulator pages, read on October 16, 2026 (the three below plus Maryland Insurance Administration, Florida Department of Financial Services, California Department of Insurance and Nevada statute pages; see the guide's source list): NAIC's article “Should I Get Travel Insurance?” (dated June 16, 2026), NAIC's Travel Insurance topic page (last updated April 1, 2026), and the North Carolina Department of Insurance's consumer's guide to travel insurance. Items on that page that are our own suggestions are labelled as such. We do not use any price figure from those pages, and we do not recommend a policy.
Money
No link on this site is an affiliate link right now. We plan to use affiliate links to IHG hotel websites, Booking.com, Vrbo, Viator, Discover Cars and Squaremouth; when we do, the links will be marked and we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which room we recommend. See the affiliate disclosure.