Military families / PCS

Pet-friendly hotel suites for a PCS family of five: what the pages say and what to ask

Two adults, three children and a pet, in a hotel for the first stretch of a move. This page lays out what the hotel pages we read say about pets, which hotels we have not read, and what to ask in writing before you book.

Last verified: ; re-check scheduled by November 17, 2026. Details come from the linked hotel pages and change by date. How we check.

No affiliate links on this site yet. If we add them later they will be marked and never decide which room we recommend. Disclosure policy

Short answer

We read pet text on 12 IHG hotel pages (one of them only in part; 11 of them have a page on this site) and for the IHG Army Hotels Candlewood at Fort Carson. The pet text on a hotel page is hotel-level, and only one room card here, at Staybridge Oakbrook Terrace, carries “Pet Friendly” in its name. Ask the hotel which exact room takes your pet, in writing. Whether pet fees count toward TLE is not stated on the DTMO TLE page we read.

If this is you

Orders are in, the family is moving and the dog or cat is coming too. Two adults and three children already need a room that sleeps five (see PCS first week in a hotel with a family of five), and the pet adds its own questions.

This page covers the hotel side only. It gives no fee amounts, weights or reimbursement figures, because they change by hotel and by date and the hotel page or your own office is the place to confirm them.

This page is general information compiled from public pages. It is not legal, financial or travel-entitlement advice, and the site has no affiliation with any military service or agency. Rules change: check the current DTMO page and ask your own finance or pay office.

What 12 IHG hotel pages say about pets

Each row restates the “pet policy” text on the hotel's IHG page as we read it; the last-but-one column is the largest published room maximum on our own hotel page, not a statement that the pet text applies to that room. Amounts and weights are on the hotel's page and are deliberately not copied here. “Not in the text” means that point is not in the text we read, not that the hotel has no rule.

HotelAnimals namedPet fee in the textWeight limitPets per roomOther items in the textHighest published room maximum on our pageSource
Candlewood Suites Orlando Lake Buena VistaPets (animal types not specified)Yes, non-refundable; higher for longer staysWeight limit statedLimit statedPet agreement signed at check-in8 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Anaheim At The ParkDogs only; the text says no catsYes; higher for longer staysWeight limit statedLimit statedA breed restriction is mentioned; “call for availability”6 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Carlsbad - San DiegoDogs namedYes, non-refundable; higher for longer staysWeight limit statedNot in the textPet agreement signed at check-in8 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Chicago GlenviewPets (animal types not specified)Yes; higher for longer staysWeight limit statedNot in the textPet agreement signed at check-in; up-to-date vaccinations required at check-in8 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Chicago LincolnshirePets (animal types not specified)Yes; higher for longer staysNot in the textLimit statedPet agreement signed at check-in; up-to-date vaccinations required at check-in8 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Clermont Southeast“All varieties of pets”Yes, non-refundable; higher for longer staysNot in the textNot in the textNone6 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Oakbrook Terrace“Furry companions” of non-aggressive breedsYes, non-refundable; higher for longer staysWeight limit statedLimit statedA breed restriction is mentioned7 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Orlando Universal BlvdPets welcomeNot read in full (we only have part of the page text)Not read in full (we only have part of the page text)Not read in full (we only have part of the page text)A dog walk area is mentioned5 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Royale ParcPets (animal types not specified)Yes; higher for longer staysWeight limit statedNot in the textPets must be secured for housekeeping10 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas - Stadium DistrictPets (animal types not specified)Yes, non-refundableWeight limit statedLimit statedPet agreement signed at check-inNo room page on this siteIHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Washington DC East LargoPets (animal types not specified)Yes, non-refundableNot in the textNot in the textNone8 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026
Staybridge Washington DC GreenbeltPets (animal types not specified)Yes; higher for longer staysNot in the textFee covers two pets; no limit statedNone8 (largest room type on our page)IHG hotel page, read October 16, 2026

The Staybridge Anaheim row leaves out one line of that hotel's text because it conflicts with the rest of the same text; ask that hotel which animals it accepts. Fee cut-offs for a longer stay differ by hotel, so check the hotel's page for the night count.

Oakbrook Terrace: the one room card named Pet Friendly

On IHG's room selection page for the Nov 10-11, 2026 search (1 room, 2 adults and 3 children, read October 16, 2026), the Staybridge Chicago-Oakbrook Terrace page showed 4 suites. One card is named “2 Double 1 Bedroom Suite Pet Friendly”. Its published details:

  • Maximum occupancy on the card: 5.
  • Size: 425 sqft.
  • Kitchen: Full Kitchen on the card.
  • Beds: 2 Double Beds; room elements: Single Sofa Bed.
  • Layout: 1 Bedroom with Living and Kitchen Area.
  • Label on the card: “Pet Friendly”.

A second card, “2 Double 1 Bedroom Suite”, lists the same size, beds, kitchen and layout without the “Pet Friendly” label. The page does not say what the label changes. The hotel's pet text (see the table) names a weight limit, a per-pet non-refundable fee that is higher for stays of seven or more nights, non-aggressive breeds and a limit of two pets per room. Whether the other 3 suites accept pets, and whether a pet counts toward the card's occupancy of 5: not on the page. IHG's hotel page also carried a full-property renovation announcement when read, and we could not tell which rooms it affects. See the Oakbrook Terrace page. This is a one-bedroom suite with a sofa bed, not a two-bedroom suite (see where the fifth person sleeps).

Fort Carson Candlewood Suites (IHG Army Hotels)

Two sources: the hotel's IHG Army Hotels page (read October 17, 2026) and the IHG Army Hotels domestic and service animal policy (marked “Updated June 2025”, read October 18, 2026). The policy matches the hotel page on the points both state. Dollar amounts and weights are left out on purpose.

  • The hotel page shows a pet-friendly badge, a non-refundable per-pet fee, an extra nightly fee that starts on the eighth night, a limit of two pets per room and a weight limit.
  • The policy says a valid credit card must be on file and a Pet Agreement signed at check-in.
  • “Only dogs and cats are allowed in hotel rooms and in accordance with the Installation's Regulations.”
  • “Domestic animals must always be placed in a crate or pet carrier when the guest leaves the guest room.”
  • The policy names breeds deemed aggressive or dangerous that may not be brought in; read the list on the policy page.
  • On noise: after two disruptive complaints the guest is asked to make other arrangements for the pet.
  • “Service animals are working animals, not pets,” and the pet guidelines do not apply to them. “If your animal is an Emotional Support or Comfort Animal, this Pet Policy applies.”
  • If extensive cleaning or repair is needed, additional fees may be charged.

The IHG Army Hotels FAQ says to tell the reservations agent before arrival if you are traveling with pets. Room types and occupancy at Fort Carson: not read. Whether other installation hotels follow the same policy: not read. See also Fort Carson installation-hotel page (page marked modified March 18, 2022) for the on-post lodging caveat discussed in the PCS first-week page.

Hotels on this site whose pet policy we have not read

For these hotels we did not find pet text in the records we hold, so we state nothing about their pet rules. That is a gap in our reading, not a statement that they refuse pets. Ask the hotel in writing.

HotelBrandPet policy
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Las Vegas E TropicanaHoliday Inn Express & SuitesPets heading only, text not read
Cape Canaveral Beach ResortHoliday Inn Club VacationsNot read
Clementine AnaheimIndependentNot read
Desert ClubHoliday Inn Club VacationsNot read
Holiday Inn Club Vacations South Beach ResortHoliday Inn Club VacationsNot read
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg ResortHoliday Inn Club VacationsNot read
Hyatt Regency Times SquareHyattNot read
JW Marriott Bonnet CreekMarriott / JW MarriottNot read
Orange LakeHoliday Inn Club VacationsNot read
Orlando BreezeHoliday Inn Club VacationsNot read
Residence Inn Washington DCMarriott / Residence InnNot read
Rosen Inn Pointe OrlandoIndependentNot read
Smoky Mountain ResortHoliday Inn Club VacationsNot read
The BayardIndependentNot read
Westin Times SquareMarriott / WestinNot read

In the booking steps we read for The Bayard on October 17, 2026 (category, rate, summary and details), pets were not shown; the terms document was not opened. Marriott's pet-friendly page (read October 18, 2026) says: “Pet policies vary by hotel, even within the same Marriott Bonvoy brand.”

Do pet fees count toward TLE?

Not stated on the DTMO Temporary Lodging Expenses page we read (dated December 2, 2024), which does not mention pets. See how to read a TLE hotel bill.

A different DTMO page, the DTMO Pet Transportation Allowance FAQ (dated November 26, 2024; read October 18, 2026), is about the pet transportation allowance, which is not TLE. Points on it, quoted as written:

  • “Can I be reimbursed the hotel pet fees using this allowance? Yes, hotel pet fees are a valid expense to be reimbursed.”
  • “The JTR defines a household pet as a cat or dog.”
  • “the allowance may only be used for one household pet per PCS order. Any additional pets will need to be shipped at your expense.”
  • “You must provide itemized receipts for pet expenses and a non-availability letter from the office processing the transportation request if Government transportation is not available.”
  • The page says the policy is effective January 1, 2024, and the basis is whether the effective date of the orders is on or after that date.

That page does not say whether pet fees also count toward TLE hotel costs: not on the page. Rules change: check the current DTMO page and ask your finance or pay office.

What to ask the hotel before you book

  1. Which exact room takes pets. The pet text on a hotel page is a hotel-level statement; ask for the room name in writing.
  2. Which animals. The texts above name dogs, cats or “pets” differently.
  3. The fee, whether it is per pet or per stay, and what changes with a longer stay.
  4. Limits on number and size of pets, and breed rules.
  5. Whether pets count toward the room's occupancy. Not stated on any page we read.
  6. Housekeeping and leaving the pet alone in the room. One hotel text says pets must be secured for housekeeping and the Fort Carson policy says a crate or carrier when you leave the room; others say nothing we read.
  7. An itemized pet-fee line on the bill, so your own office can see it (see how to read a TLE hotel bill).

Message to send the hotel

Email

Subject: Pet and room question, reservation [number or dates]

Hi,

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children arriving [date] and leaving [date], moving with one [dog / cat]. Before we book, could you confirm in writing:

1. Which exact room name accepts pets, and its published maximum occupancy.
2. Whether the pet counts toward that room's occupancy.
3. The pet fee, whether it is per pet or per stay, and whether it changes for a longer stay.
4. Limits on the number, size and breed of pets.
5. Any rule about leaving the pet in the room or housekeeping.
6. Whether the pet fee will appear as its own line on the itemized bill.

Thank you,
[your name]

Where each fact came from

The questions to ask are ours, not an official list.

Quick answers

Which hotels here have pet text we could read?

12 IHG hotel pages, read October 16, 2026, plus the IHG Army Hotels Candlewood Suites at Fort Carson. For the other hotels on this site: pet policy not read.

Is there one pet-friendly suite card on this site?

One: the Staybridge Chicago-Oakbrook Terrace “2 Double 1 Bedroom Suite Pet Friendly” card (published maximum 5, Full Kitchen). A second card with the same details has no “Pet Friendly” label, and the page does not say what the label changes.

Can hotel pet fees be reimbursed, and is that TLE?

Not stated on the DTMO TLE page we read (dated December 2, 2024). A separate DTMO page on the pet transportation allowance says hotel pet fees are a valid expense under that allowance; it does not say whether they count toward TLE. Ask your finance or pay office.

Does this page give fee amounts or weight limits?

No. They are on each hotel's page and change; this page only says whether the text names a fee, a weight limit or a limit on pets per room.

Does a pet count toward the room's occupancy?

Not stated on any page we read. Ask the hotel in writing.